h1

It’s Been Quite a Week

February 12, 2009

Last week, Wednesday the 4th, I was part of a comedy show at Pacific Standard in Brooklyn, hosted by Ritch Duncan. I presented a powerpoint version of a Twain & Einstein comic from the next Thrizzle. I’ve been doing shows here and there for years; originally I had actors do the voices (occasionally the amazing James Urbaniak), but I’ve gradually gotten bolder about doing the voices myself. I keep my head down and do it quickly and loudly, which seems to work pretty well. All the acts were good, especially Gabe & Jenny and the amazing Kristin Schaal. It was great fun, went home and got to sleep; woke up to my wife telling me that her water had broke, six weeks early! We went straight to the hospital, where she was told she was staying until the baby came out. Of course we were both pretty terrified, despite all reassurances (we had a wonderful midwife). I had to go home each night for the next four days, while she stayed there alone. Finally they decided to induce, and then there were five or so violent, intense hours of labor… followed by the birth of our son, Ulysses Kupperman Dougherty, at 10:06 p.m. on February 9th, weighing 5 lbs 14 oz. He’s a little early, but he’s healthy and beautiful. We arrived home last night, and now we have a lot of learning to do!dsc08090

5 comments

  1. Congratulations!


  2. Congratulations Michael!


  3. Congratulations! That’s awesome! 😀


  4. I just found out that you have a blog and a kid. Congratulations!


  5. Belated congratulations, get ready for every darned thing in your life to completely change!



Leave a Reply

